So here we are again and it seems that I am jumping from one bandwagon to the other which is the antithesis of what I wanted this blog to be. However, that said perhaps I was wrong in believing that I could do a sports related blog any other way.
I digress. So let us talk a little Brett Favre.
I love Brett Favre, I love how he plays the game, I love to think that I share his arm strength (no...not really). I do not, however, love this decision although this puts me way down in the abysmal minority. The Minnesota Vikings do not NEED Brett Favre as much as Brett Favre need the Minnesota Vikings.
Of course the obvious question on the lips of many of you is "If not Favre who? Well, all joking aside, Sage Rosenfels or Tavaris Jackson are quite capable of handling this offense with all of the valid weapons on the O-Line, in the backfield, and at the receiver positions. My little sister could play and be successful with this group. On top of that you have to consider that the offense that is Adrian Petersen heavy is now going to be revamped so that Brett can be the focus of the offense. Is it just me or did the Vikings win the NFC North last year without Favre? Hmmm.
So again I ask the question who needs who? The Packers did not want him back, The Jets seemed much happier when he retired, and many fans washed their hands of this long ago. The NFL has so many good young quarterbacks who run pro sets in college that they can step in much quicker and play much more successfully. So do they really NEED Brett Favre?
I question his motives, his health, and his sincerity when he says that it is all about football. I want to believe that but it just seems like he misses the spotlight when it is shining elsewhere. Plus, throwing balls to a high school squad is much easier than going full tilt in the NFL.
In conclusion, no I am not a hater. I am, at least when it comes to sports, a realist. I sincerely hope that the Vikings win the Super Bowl but I really have my doubts that this will come to fruition. If they do maybe Brett can go out in the blaze of glory that he is dreaming of and be done once and for all.
Wednesday, August 19, 2009
Friday, August 14, 2009
Give Vick a Chance
In today's blog, which happens to be my first on this page, we are going to talk about.....yes you guessed it, Michael Vick and friends. I hate to be one to jump on the bandwagon but it seems that it is big enough to hold me so why not.
Michael Vick DOES deserve a second chance as do all of us when we display poor judgement. What he did is unspeakable and I will certainly not forget the transgression and neither should anyone else. However, Since he spent time in prison and made the necessary changes in his attitude, maturity level, and list of friends I am willing to give him the benefit of the doubt. Does anyone really think that Tony Dungy is going to let him fart in the wrong direction without being all over him. Let's remember that Tony has a legacy to protect and he will not sit idle while Vick trashes it along with what is left of his own credibility.
As for the PETA folks I can certainly sympathize with your position as I, myself, am an animal lover. I find it disturbing though that a group with such compassion can move so quickly to condemn a Human Being even after he has paid his debt to our oh-so-forgiving society. You called for his punishment and it was done. Take solace in the fact that this punishment was served and now he seems to be truly sorry for his mistakes. If you cannot do that than perhaps you should look for another hobby.
Let us remember that God may not be a sports fan but he is a fan of each and every one of us regardless of our sins. He will forgive us all our transgressions when, and if, we ask. That said, who are we to judge....really?
Again, this is the first of many random blogs steered to start some water-cooler conversations but not at all designed to start any quarrels. I like to make people think, myself included, as I write these blogs and I hope that in turn you will communicate with me and return the favor.
God Bless you all and keep in touch.
Michael Vick DOES deserve a second chance as do all of us when we display poor judgement. What he did is unspeakable and I will certainly not forget the transgression and neither should anyone else. However, Since he spent time in prison and made the necessary changes in his attitude, maturity level, and list of friends I am willing to give him the benefit of the doubt. Does anyone really think that Tony Dungy is going to let him fart in the wrong direction without being all over him. Let's remember that Tony has a legacy to protect and he will not sit idle while Vick trashes it along with what is left of his own credibility.
As for the PETA folks I can certainly sympathize with your position as I, myself, am an animal lover. I find it disturbing though that a group with such compassion can move so quickly to condemn a Human Being even after he has paid his debt to our oh-so-forgiving society. You called for his punishment and it was done. Take solace in the fact that this punishment was served and now he seems to be truly sorry for his mistakes. If you cannot do that than perhaps you should look for another hobby.
Let us remember that God may not be a sports fan but he is a fan of each and every one of us regardless of our sins. He will forgive us all our transgressions when, and if, we ask. That said, who are we to judge....really?
Again, this is the first of many random blogs steered to start some water-cooler conversations but not at all designed to start any quarrels. I like to make people think, myself included, as I write these blogs and I hope that in turn you will communicate with me and return the favor.
God Bless you all and keep in touch.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)